Appeals Sub-Committee (School Transport)

MINUTES OF THE APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE (SCHOOL TRANSPORT) MEETING HELD ON 17 AUGUST 2023 AT COMMITTEE ROOM A - COUNCIL OFFICES, MONKTON PARK, CHIPPENHAM SN15 1ER.

Present:

Cllr Ian Blair-Pilling, Cllr Adrian Foster, and Cllr Tony Jackson

7 Election of Chairman

Councillor Adrian Foster was elected as Chairman for this appeal only.

Councillor Adrian Foster in the Chair.

8 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

9 Minutes

Resolved:

To approve and sign as a true and correct record the minutes of the meeting held on 9 August 2023.

10 Meeting Procedure

The Chairman outlined the meeting procedure as detailed in the agenda.

11 Exclusion of the press and public

Resolved:

To exclude members of the press and public for the business specified in Item no. 6 in accordance with Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972, (paragraph 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act).

12 School Transport Appeal

The panel heard representations and replies from the Transport Officer and the appellant and asked questions of the parties involved.

Decision:

The Panel decided that the Council's policy had been correctly applied to the facts of the case and found insufficient grounds to justify a discretionary departure from that policy, choosing instead to uphold the Officer's recommendation to refuse school transport.

(Duration of meeting: 10:00 - 11:00 am)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Cameron Osborn of Democratic Services, direct line 01225 718224, e-mail <u>cameron.osborn@wiltshire.gov.uk</u>

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line 01225 713114 or email <u>communications@wiltshire.gov.uk</u>